How do you qualify for an NJ real estate sales license?
- Be 18 years of age or older;
- Have a high school education or its equivalent;
- Complete a 75-hour pre-licensure course at a state-licensed school (Polley is licensed); and
- Pass the license examination.
After successfully completing the course and passing the examination, the applicant must apply for a license through a sponsoring real estate broker. The New Jersey Real Estate Commission must also be satisfied as to the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, character and integrity.
Applicants who have been convicted of a crime, or who currently are on parole or probation, may be denied the ability to apply for a real estate license.
Persons who are citizens of New Jersey and who qualify as disabled veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces may be able to obtain waivers of the license education and experience requirements. Call the Commission’s Education Waiver Section at 609-292-7272, Ext. 50137, for details.
New Jersey does not have license reciprocity with any state.
The New Jersey Real Estate Commission is your licensing authority
The Commission, a division of the state Department of Banking and Insurance, is the state real estate licensing authority. For licensing inquiries, it can be contacted at:
Licensing Bureau, Real Estate
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
P.O. Box 474
Trenton, NJ 08625-0474
Phone (609) 292-7053
Fax (609) 292-6765
The Commission administers and enforces New Jersey’s real estate licensing law and adopted regulations. It has the power to revoke licenses and otherwise sanction individuals and firms for license law violations.
Find Courses For:
- New Jersey Real Estate Sales Licensing
Photo from Google Images