Appraisers’ Continuing Education Is A State Requirement
Pennsylvania-certified residential and general appraisers, certified evaluators, and Pennsylvania real estate broker licensees who still retain the now-unavailable broker-appraiser certification, are required by the Pennsylvania State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers to become re-certified (the term for renewing their licenses) every two years, by no later than June 30 during odd-numbered years.
Re-certification requires 28 hours of appraisers continuing education. It must include seven hours of National USPAP (Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice) Update; a minimum of two hours of Pennsylvania laws, rules and regulations; and up to 19 hours of electives.
Then, Their Certifications Can Be Renewed Online
Once a certified appraiser has completed all necessary continuing education, he or she can renew their certifications (licenses) online at a state-specified website.
Important News For PA Licensed Appraiser Trainees
If you’re a Licensed Appraiser Trainee in Pennsylvania, you may be required to complete between 14 and 28 hours of appraisal recertification courses – or none whatsoever – depending on the date your license was issued. Recertification must be completed in Pennsylvania on or before June 30 of an odd-numbered year (for example, 2019 or 2021).
Last updated 20180702