Skip to content Skip to navigation

License levels recognized in Pennsylvania

Click HERE to view state requirements.

  • Registered Trainee Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser
TraineeCertified ResidentialCertified General

Appraisal Qualifying Education Hours

75

Appraisal Qualifying Education Hours

200

Appraisal Qualifying Education Hours

300

College Degree Requirements

None

College Degree Requirements

  1. Bachelor’s degree in any field of study;
  2. Associate’s degree in a focused field of study, such as business, economics or real estate;
  3. Successful completion of 30 college semester credit hours in specified topics;
  4. Successful completion of College-Level Examination Program (CLEP)1 exams equivalent to a minimum of 30 semester credit hours in specified subject matter areas; or
  5. Any combination of #3 and #4 above that includes all of the topics identified.
  6. A LICENSED RESIDENTIAL appraiser who has been licensed for a minimum of 5 years and in good standing for at least 5 years with no disciplinary actions that would affect the individual’s ability to appraise may upgrade to CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL without completing any college coursework.

College Degree Requirements

Must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

Experience Requirements

None

Experience Requirements

1500 hours of acceptable appraisal experience in not less than 12 months. At least 750 hours of the experience acquired by an applicant must be in the actual preparation of real estate appraisal reports in which an interior and exterior property inspection was made.

Experience Requirements

3000 hours of acceptable appraisal experience in no less than 18 months. A minimum of 1500 hours of the required experience must be in non-residential appraisal work.

Permitted Independent Work Type

The scope of practice for a trainee appraiser classification is the appraisal of those properties which the state-certified Supervisory Appraiser is permitted by his/her current credential and that the Supervisory Appraiser is competent to appraise.

Permitted Independent Work Type

A Certified Residential appraiser (a) may perform appraisals on any property which a State Registered appraiser or State Licensed appraiser may appraise; (b) may appraise one to four residential units without regard to transaction value or complexity; and (c) such other appraisals in federally related transactions as may from time to time be approved by the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies. In federally related transactions, a State Certified Residential appraiser may not appraise real estate wherein a development analysis/appraisal is necessary and utilized.

Permitted Independent Work Type

A Certified General appraiser may appraise any type of property for any purpose.

Steps to becoming an appraiser in the state of Pennsylvania

STEP 1Find a supervisor/mentor to work with to log your experience hours. (Suggestions for finding a supervisor/mentor)

STEP 2Successfully complete 75 hours of qualifying education courses  approved by the Board.  In addition, successfully complete the AQB approved Supervisory/Trainee Course. Successful completion requires passing the course final examinations for each course with a proctor. Proctoring requirement only applies to qualifying education and does not include the Supervisory course or law course. (Course Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

STEP 3Submit the Application package which includes:

  • Forms (Application)
  • Fees (located on application)
  • Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  • Experience (Experience Log)
  • Background information for criminal record check (included with application)

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Downloads:

Ready to get started? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

McKissock courses and online delivery method are approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Real Estate Appraisers  and International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).

McKissock is the exclusive provider of The Appraisal Foundation‘s national online USPAP course for the past 10 years.

Next steps after getting or upgrading your Pennsylvania appraiser license

The appraiser license renewal cycle is two years. Certificates expire June 30 of every odd-numbered year.  The board mails renewal notices 2 to 3 months prior to the expiration date.  Notices are mailed to the most recent address the certificate-holder has reported to the Board.  The Postal Service does not forward licenses.

Renewal Process

Education Requirement

  • Certified Pennsylvania Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months
  • This includes the National USPAP Update Course, or Equivalent (7 hours)
  • And 2 hours focusing on the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act and the Board’s regulations and policies.
  • All Pennsylvania appraisal-approved courses are also accepted for CPEs (Assessors) with the exception of PA LAW.

Renewal Fees:

  • Certified Residential Appraiser: $305
  • Certified General Appraiser: $305
  • Certified Pennsylvania Evaluator: $225
  • Certified Broker Appraiser: $225
  • Licensed Appraiser Trainee: $150
  • AMC: $1,000

If your license is expired, you must contact the Board Office to request a reactivation application.  You may contact the Board Office by phone (717-783-4866) or email (st-appraise@pa.gov).  Please provide your license number and full name as it appears on your license when calling or emailing the Board office. If you do not know your license number, you can search for your personal license at https://www.pals.pa.gov.

License Renewals are done online via the Pennsylvania Licensing System (PALS)

Get Started HERE.

Need to take classes for renewal? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Steps to upgrade your appraiser license in the state of Pennsylvania

STEP 1: Hold a valid appriasal license and successfully complete the additional required qualifying education courses (see course requirements below by license level). Successful completion of qualifying education courses requires passing the course final examination for each course with a proctor. (Course Proctoring Policy and Requirements)

STEP 2: Complete and document all required experience hours for your upgrade level.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser – Provide 1,500 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 12 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – Provide 3,000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 18 months of which a minimum of 1,500 hours must be non-residential real property appraisal experience

STEP 3: Complete courses and maintain copies of transcripts for all college level requirements.

  • Certified Residential Appraiser – (See table at top of page or view requirements HERE)
  • Certified General Appraiser – You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.

STEP 4: Submit the Application package which includes:

  1. Forms (Application)
  2. Fees (located in application)
  3. Education – completion certificates and/or official college transcripts
  4. Experience (included in application)
  5. Background information for criminal records check. (included in application)

STEP 5: Examination Process Must pass the national examination approved by the AQB and PA SBREA. Pennsylvania national exam provider is PSI.

Additional Helpful Links and Resource Dowloads:

*Continuing education requirements and process for license upgrade displayed in above renewal section.

Ready to upgrade your license? Click the button below to view class options and enroll.

Qualifying education requirements by license level

Trainee Appraiser (75 hours) – AQB recommended course order

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours

Certified Residential Appraiser (200 hours) – AQB recommended course order

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 15 hours
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – 30 hours
  • Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling or Finance – 15 hours
  • Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours

Certified General Appraiser  (300 hours) – AQB recommended course order

  • Basic Appraisal Principles – 30 hours
  • Basic Appraisal Procedures – 30 hours
  • National USPAP Course or Equivalent – 15 hours
  • Supervisor/Trainee Course – 4 hours
  • General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – 30 hours
  • Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
  • General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach – 30 hours
  • General Appraiser Income Approach – 60 hours
  • General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies – 30 hours
  • Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 30 hours

*These pages were updated on November 10, 2020.  Please review the state board/commission page to determine if any changes have been made to the process since then.

Have a question? Call us at 1.800.220.2789 or email us polley@polleyassociates.com.
We’re here to help!